Kevin Levin is at it again…

As the title states, Mr. Levin is at it again. This time in an article posted on November 28, 2010 entitled, “What does your Civil War soldier have to say?” In it Mr. Levin discusses how Civil War statues are “interpreted” stating: “our understanding of the meaning of these sites is always changing.”  The statue in question is located in Charlottesville , Virginia and is pictured below:
 
 Of course Mr. Levin couldn’t resist posting an editorial he read in the paper as a reason to discuss it. The editorial which was posted in Virginia’s “The Daily Progress” newspaper on November 27, 2010 and entitled “An Apology from a Confederate Soldier” states:
“My name is Johnny Reb, the young soldier you see downtown every day at the courthouse. I killed and died for the Confederate States of America. I now see the great pain and suffering I brought to my family and my country in this misguided war. I am sorry too for attempting to perpetuate the slavery of Africans, brought here in cruel servitude, an enduring stain on America’s heritage of liberty.

“If I could rise from my grave, I would walk to President Lincoln’s memorial in Washington and ask his forgiveness. And I would ask to shake the hand of President Obama and thank him for his service in healing the great country America has become despite my mistake.”

You’ve got to be kidding me! Asking Lincoln for HIS forgiveness? Thanking President Obama for “healing” this nation? Unbelievable. Lincoln tore this country apart limb from limb, and Obama is working on it as I write this.

Perhaps Levin’s motive for posting this editorial is because it truly reflects how HE believes.

I distinctly get the impression that Levin’s liberal theory that the statue’s meaning has somehow changed over the years is based on a broader theory that liberals adhere to when approaching the Constitution.

Levin believes that statues are “living” “breathing”  markers whose meaning and purpose is open to interpretation and change.  Well Mr. Levin, it isn’t, and neither is the Constitution!

As for the editorial, there is no need to ponder what the soldier would say if he could talk.  General Lee  in a letter to ex -Texas Governor Stockdale once wrote:

“”Governor, if I had foreseen the use these people desired to make of their victory, there would have been no surrender at Appomattox, no, sir, not by me. Had I seen these results of subjugation, I would have preferred to die at Appomattox with my brave men, my sword in this right hand.”

If the Confederate soldier memorialized on the statue in question, could talk and was able to meet Abraham Lincoln, he would not ask for his forgiveness, he would say, “May God have mercy on your soul”.

-Webmaster

 
Leave a Reply

